California Big City Mayors Rally to Support ‘Opportunity Zones’


The Big City Mayors Coalition, led by Sacramento Mayor Darrell Steinberg, have submitted a letter of support for Opportunity Zone investment in California anchored around three principles:

1.  Clear reporting and transparency requirements for OZ funds and projects.

2.  Community Sponsorship for Tax Conformance

3.  State support for local regional economic development capacity

The coalition represents Mayors from California’s 13 largest cities: Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, San Jose, Oakland, Sacramento, Fresno, Long Beach, Santa Ana, Anaheim, Stockton, Bakersfield, and Riverside.

Read the letter